The attorneys at Callahan & Hockemeyer defend misdemeanor and felony traffic law violations in Illinois. Whether you were charged with a minor traffic violation or a serious offense that resulted in injuries or fatalities, you have the right to be heard. Our attorneys can help.
Call Callahan & Hockemeyer in Palatine to schedule your free consultation. 847-543-6910.
Even minor traffic violations can have serious repercussions for drivers in Illinois. If you accumulate more than three moving violation convictions in a 12-month period, your driver’s license could be suspended. If you are under 21 years old, just two violations can result in a suspended license. If you accumulate any additional violations within a 36-month period, your license could be revoked.
Additionally, any traffic law convictions may be held against you by your motor vehicle insurance company, possibly resulting in significantly higher premiums. Multiple minor traffic violations can also interfere with your job.
In Illinois, you can face steep fines, license suspension or revocation, court-ordered traffic school or substance abuse treatment, and even jail or prison time if you are convicted of more serious traffic law violations.
All motor vehicles are required to be covered by liability insurance in Illinois. If you are convicted of driving without liability insurance, your driver’s license will be suspended for at least three months and you will face a minimum fine of $500. Your vehicle registration will also be suspended and you will be required to maintain SR-22 insurance, which is very expensive. This can be true even if you don’t own the vehicle you were driving and were unaware that it was not covered by insurance. Speak with our traffic law attorneys to find out if you may be eligible for court supervision in lieu of more serious consequences.
If you are charged with driving between 26 and 34 mph over the speed limit, you are facing a Class B misdemeanor conviction. You could be sentenced to up to 180 days in jail and fines of up to $2,000. You could face Class A misdemeanor charges if you’re accused of driving 35 mph or more over the legal speed limit. A conviction for a Class A misdemeanor could mean up to one year behind bars and up to $2,500 in fines.
An aggravated speeding conviction will likely result in the suspension of your driving privileges and/or the loss of your Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) if you have one.
Drivers in Illinois are prohibited from using electronic communication devices including cell phones, laptops, tablets, and similar equipment while driving. If aggravating circumstances are present, fines and penalties are often staggering.
If you are accused of using your cell phone or other device in a construction or school zone, within 500 feet of an emergency/accident scene, or the behavior results in serious injury or death to another person, you can be charged with Aggravated Use of a Wireless Phone. If catastrophic injuries like permanent disability or disfigurement occur, you will likely face Class A misdemeanor charges. If the alleged behavior results in a fatality, you can be charged with a Class 4 felony.
You can be charged with fleeing and eluding police if an officer gives you a visual or audible signal to stop with the vehicle’s police lights or siren and you fail to do so in a timely manner. Generally, fleeing and eluding is a Class A misdemeanor. However, if you commit various other moving violations while attempting to elude police, drive more than 20 mph over the speed limit, or cause a crash that results in personal injuries, fatalities, or more than $300 in property damage, you can be charged with a felony.
The courts take leaving the scene of an accident seriously in Illinois. If the crash results in property damage only and you leave the scene, you can be charged with a Class A misdemeanor. If personal injuries or fatalities occur, you are facing Class 4 felony charges. In addition to the suspension of your driving privileges, you could face steep fines and jail time.
Reckless driving is a very serious charge in Illinois. If you are accused of operating a motor vehicle in such a way that demonstrates disregard to people or property, you could be charged with reckless driving. A conviction can result in the suspension of revocation or your driver’s license, steep fines, community service or probation, driving school, and even jail time.
If you have previous reckless driving convictions or are convicted of aggravated reckless driving, racing, or aggravated street racing, harsher penalties including up to five years behind bars and up to $25,000 can be imposed.
Commercial drivers are held to a higher standard than those with regular driver’s licenses. They are required to complete CDL training and are considered professional drivers. As such, the penalties for traffic law violations are generally more severe for CDL drivers.
CDL drivers who are convicted of just two serious moving violations in a 36-month period can be disqualified from operating a commercial vehicle for a minimum of two months. Subsequent convictions can result in longer disqualification periods.
Additionally, for certain traffic violations, CDL drivers can be disqualified after a single conviction. These include:
If you were charged with violating traffic laws, our team can help keep violations off your driving record. With our traffic law attorneys behind the wheel, the evidence against you may be able to be challenged and defeated. Your charges could be reduced or dismissed completely.